Offshore wind power is one of the most important backbones of a sustainable energy supply. Current construction of classic offshore wind turbines is, however, associated with enormous technical, environmental and financial challenges. It is therefore crucial for the offshore wind industry to minimize these costs and risks. Another question of vital significance for the industry is the development of projects in deeper water with high wind yields, as the available areas suitable for conventional foundations are already widely utilized. Approximately 75% of the global offshore potential is located in areas with water depths greater than 30 meters; at least two-thirds are in water depths greater than 50 meters.

The GICON® SOF floating offshore substructure provides an ideal solution for these challenges.

GICON’s SOF development provides a floating substructure for offshore wind turbines which can be deployed in water depths of 18-500 meters while achieving LCOE (Levelized Cost of Energy) below 10 € cent / kWh. This makes GICON one of the global development leaders for floating offshore wind substructures. The R&D project started in 2009 and includes renowned partners such as TU Bergakademie Freiberg (Freiberg Technical University and Mining Academy), Rostock University and Fraunhofer IWES. Based on extensive, successfully conducted tank tests, fabrication of a full-scale prototype of the GICON® SOF commenced in 2014.

Proportional funding from the State of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania with support from ERDF

The project has been funded by the Ministry of Economy, Construction and Tourism of the German State of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania with resources from the European Fund for Regional Development (ERDF), for the funding period of 2007-2013 (Grant number V-630-1-260-2012/103). With the funds, the manufacture, installation and testing of the first floating wind turbine in Germany have been proportionately funded.

Das GICON®-SOF

TECHNISCHE ANTWORT AUF DIE ZUKUNFTSFRAGEN DER OFFSHORE-WINDINDUSTRIE



Offshore-Windkraft ist eine der wichtigsten Säulen der ökologisch-regenerativen Energieversorgung. Der Bau klassischer Offshore-Windenergieanlagen ist gegenwärtig jedoch mit gewaltigen technischen, ökologischen und finanziellen Herausforderungen verbunden. Diese Kosten und Risiken zu minimieren ist für die Offshore-Windindustrie von entscheidender Bedeutung. Eine weitere existentielle Frage der Branche ist die Erschließung neuer Wassertiefen mit hohem Windertrag, da das Flächenangebot für feste Gründungen bereits gut ausgeschöpft ist. 75% der weltweiten Offshore-Potentiale befinden sich in Gebieten mit Wassertiefen von mehr als 30 Metern, immerhin zwei Drittel in Tiefen über 50 Metern.

Das GICON®-SOF (Schwimmendes Offshore-Fundament) bietet für diese beiden Zukunftsfragen die ideale Lösung.

GICON hat mit dem SOF eine schwimmende Plattform für Offshore-Windenergieanlagen entwickelt, die in Wassertiefen von 18-500 Metern einsetzbar ist und Stromgestehungskosten deutlich unter 10 Cent/kWh ermöglicht. Weltweit zählt GICON damit zu den führenden Entwicklern schwimmender Offshore-Fundamente für Windkraftanlagen. Seit 2009 entwickelt GICON das SOF und kooperiert dabei mit renommierten Partnern wie der TU Bergakademie Freiberg, der Universität Rostock, und dem Fraunhofer-Institut IWES. Auf der Basis umfassender erfolgreich durchgeführter Tanktests wird seit Juli 2014 das erste Funktionsmuster des GICON®-SOF gefertigt.

Anteilige Förderung mit EFRE-Mitteln durch das Land Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Das Vorhaben wird gefördert durch das Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Bau und Tourismus des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mit Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklungen (EFRE) der Förderperiode 2007-2013 (Förderkennzeichen V-630-1-260-2012/103). Mit den Mitteln werden die Fertigung, Errichtung und Erprobung der ersten schwimmenden Windenergieanlage Deutschlands anteilig gefördert.